Academic Departments

View of South Campus.

The Graduate School of Education is comprised of four academic departments. These departments offer fully online advanced certificates, master's and doctoral degree programs, undergraduate minors, as well as individual courses.

Our Departments

  • Department of Counseling, School and Educational Psychology
    Our department offers an undergraduate minor in counseling and a variety of doctoral and master's degree programs in psychology and counseling specialties. Our graduates become licensed psychologists, mental health counselors and certified school or rehabilitation counselors.
  • Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
    Our department provides a wide range of degree options, including an undergraduate minor, that prepare students for careers as scholars, administrators and policy analysts. Students will develop an understanding of how research, leadership and policy making can improve the quality and practice of education in a rapidly changing world.
  • Department of Learning and Instruction
    Our department is devoted to educating teachers and conducting research related to all areas of teaching and learning. We offer an undergraduate minor in education, graduate degrees (at both the master's and doctoral levels), advanced certificates and certification programs for teacher education.
  • Department of Information Science
    Our department offers master's degrees in information and library science and in school librarianship, and a PhD in information science. We also offer an advanced certificate designed for master's degree graduates in information and library science who wish to upgrade their competencies or change career directions.