Bulletin Board

On the Move

On this page:

Faculty Awards and Honors

Portrait of Jaekyung Lee.

Jaekyung Lee

GSE professor receives Fulbright award to study educational equity in Asia

GSE Professor Jaekyung Lee will travel throughout Asia as he studies how to make education more accessible to girls, immigrants, refugees and other marginalized communities with a 2020-21 Fulbright Global Scholar Award, one of the most competitive awards from the prestigious Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program.

By pursuing more effective and equitable policy interventions, I hope my Fulbright study can help improve educational opportunities and outcomes for disadvantaged children and youth across the region.”

An international leader in education policy and equity, Lee will examine how public schools provide safe, supportive learning environments for vulnerable students as he visits South Korea, Vietnam and Kazakhstan.

Developing nations in Asia are challenged with providing equitable education for all students, particularly high-risk populations such as female, rural, low-income, immigrant and refugee children.

Lee is particularly interested in learning from South Korea’s successes as he explores policies that close achievement gaps for vulnerable students. As he works in the year ahead, he will analyze international datasets, interview education policymakers and visit schools with innovative and inclusive programs.

“What lessons can developing nations in Asia, such as Vietnam and Kazakhstan, learn from South Korea? While Korea was a war-torn society, held back by very low literacy levels in the early 1950s, today its young people achieve the highest level of education,” Lee said.

“My ultimate goal is to inform global education policy initiatives, such as the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal on Education, to ensure inclusive and equitable quality education for all.”

Portrait of Xiufeng Liu.

Xiufeng Liu

Xiufeng Liu a professor in the Department of Learning and Instruction, has been elected to be a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Student Awards and Honors

Portrait of Raven Baxter.

Raven Baxter

The SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence: Special Award for Special Service

Raven Baxter, PhD ’21, has been named a recipient of the 2021 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence in the new Special Service category for her efforts to educate the community about the facts related to COVID-19 and safety. Baxter, also a recipient of the prestigious Arthur A. Schomburg Fellowship, graduated this year from GSE with a doctorate in Curriculum, Instruction and the Science of Learning.

Baxter, a molecular biologist, science communicator and educator, is the founder of the STEMbassy science advocacy organization. She gave the opening keynote at SciComm 2020, a conference dedicated to effective communication of science to diverse audiences. She was also featured in Mother Jones magazine and on Fortune magazine’s “40 Under 40” list of emerging leaders in 2020.

Baxter is also a songwriter and performer who incorporates educational themes into her recordings and music videos. “Wipe It Down,” her parody of Lil Boosie’s “Wipe Me Down,” highlighted information, science and safety tips related to the pandemic. It was viewed nearly 27,000 times in its first three months. Through her efforts this past year, Baxter has reached more than 4 million viewers and has won 200,000 followers worldwide as she shares her ideas about best practices in science and education.

Portrait of Heather Hagenbuch, PhD ’21.

Heather Hagenbuch

Heather Hagenbuch, PhD ’21 Higher Education, is this year’s winner of the Edwin D. Duryea Jr. Higher Education Memorial Award.

Portrait of Christiana Kfouri.

Christiana Kfouri

Christiana Kfouri, PhD ’21 Curriculum, Instruction and the Science of Learning, is this year’s winner of the Delbert Mullens “Thinking Outside the Box” Award.

Portrait of Nancy Krisch.

Nancy Krisch

Nancy Krisch, a Curriculum, Instruction and the Science of Learning doctoral candidate, won the 2020 Physical Therapy Learning Institute’s Education Influencer Award.

Portrait of Felipe Orazco.

Felipe Orozco

Felipe Orozco, a doctoral student in the Curriculum, Instruction and Science of Learning Department, is the 2021 winner of the Lower Hudson Regional Information Center’s Transforming Education Through Leading and Learning, or TELL, Award for Outstanding Innovative Leader.

Portrait of Jennifer Saboda.

Jennifer Saboda

Jennifer Saboda, an Education Leadership and Policy doctoral student, has been named a Clark Scholar and joined the 2021 UCEA David L. Clark National Graduate Research Seminar in Educational Administration and Policy.

Portrait of Stephanie Schaefer.

Stephanie Schaefer

Stephanie Schaefer, PhD ’20 Curriculum Instruction and Science of Learning, won the American Education Research Association, or AERA, 2021 Division H’s Outstanding Publications Competition in Category 5: Outstanding Dissertation.

Portrait of Kerri Shaffer.

Kerri Shaffer

Kerri Shaffer, an Information Science doctoral student, won a Donald A. B. Lindberg Research Fellowship from the Medical Library Association.

Portrait of Charice Thompson.

Charice Thompson

Charice Thompson, MS ’21 Information and Library Science master’s degree student, won the 2021 New York Library Association Dewey Scholarship and the Drs. Henry J. and Bonita R. Durand Scholarship.

Alumni Awards and Honors

Portrait of X. Christine Wang.

Catherine Fisher Collins

Catherine Fisher Collins, EdM ‘79, EdD ’90, won the Graduate School of Education’s Distinguished Alumni Award.